Overview

The 'Save this search' feature in the Candidates tab allows you to save your candidate search criteria for future use.  Please note that to use this feature you need to have been granted the permission 'Can create and search job seekers'.


This article includes:

  • Saving and sharing your search criteria
  • Save-able candidate search criteria
  • Updating your saved search criteria
  • Deleting your saved search criteria


Saving and sharing your search criteria

You can use this button to save your search criteria to use again later.


To do this:

  1. In the Candidates tab, run the candidate search you wish to save.
  2. While viewing the search results, click the 'Save this search' button.
  3. The candidate 'Saved search' panel will appear:
  4. Provide a name for your search.  SnapHire does not prevent you from creating a new search with the same name as a search that is already in use (use the update process for an existing search if that is your intention).

  5. Select either:
    • Alert me .... if you would also like to receive an email alert when candidates information changes which matches your search criteria.  Please note that this means you will get a new alert about: 
      • A new candidate who has registered with your organisation who matches your saved search criteria. 

      • An existing candidate who did not previously match your search criteria, but whose information has changed so that they now met the search criteria. 

      • An existing candidate who already matched your search criteria, but who has updated some information about themselves (not necessarily information that is part of your search criteria - For example, they may have updated their address). 

    • Don't alert me... if you do not wish to receive email alerts when candidates' information changes that match your search criteria.
  6. If you have been granted the permission 'Create shared job seeker saved search' you will see an additional option 'Make this search available to other users'.  Use this option if you would like the rest of your team to also be able to see this search in their View drop-down box within the Candidates tab:

  7. Click the 'Save this search' button to save the search for your future use, or the 'Cancel' button to cancel the save search process.
  8. Your search will now be available from the drop-down 'View:' list at the top of the 'Candidates' tab.

TIPS:

  • It is important to note that not all search criteria can be stored as part of a saved search, please refer to Save-able search criteria below.
  • There is no limit to the number of saved searches for your account / your site.


Save-able candidate search criteria

The table below indicates which candidate search criteria sections can be retained as part of a saved search:


Candidate search criteria
Save-able?
More information
who have name, preferred name, email address or phone number
Yes

who have keywords
No

who have profile
Yes

who have "Private tags"
No
Tags cannot be saved in searches due to the fact that Tags can be changed at any time.  If a tag is changed it would produce an unexpected search result.
who have "Team tags"
No
Tags cannot be saved in searches due to the fact that Tags can be changed at any time.  If a tag is changed it would produce an unexpected search result.
This option will only appear when you have use the Candidate \ Tagging menu and selected a team tag to view the associated candidates, then clicked the 'Refine this search' feature.
who have other job seeker details
Yes

who may be closely managed by me
Yes

and customise columns
No
Column views cannot currently be saved as the column contents can be changed.  If a column is changed it would produce an unexpected search result.


Updating your saved search criteria

To update your saved search criteria:

  1. In the Candidates tab, select the search you wish to update.
  2. Click 'Refine this search' and make the required changes to the search criteria, then click 'Search now'.
  3. Click the 'Save this search' button.
  4. The existing search name will appear, to update this search, click the 'Save this search' button.


Deleting your saved search criteria

To delete your saved search criteria:

  1. In the Candidates tab, select the search you wish to delete.
  2. Click the 'Save this search' button.
  3. The existing search name will appear, check that this is the saved search criteria you wish to delete, then click the 'Delete this search' button (no further confirmation will appear).