SnapHire has a feature for self-service deleting candidates. Please note:
- The Client Success team are not permitted to delete candidates on your behalf, or at the direct request of a candidate (refer below).
- It is recommended that this activity is only undertaken by key members of your team (by a user who, at very least, has the ability to see all applications across all Recruitment Teams, if the teams feature is used on your site).
In this article:
- Requests from candidates to Client Success to delete their details
- Before attempting to delete candidates
- Deleting candidates
- Unable to delete candidates
In order to use this feature:
- Your site will need the "JOB SEEKER \ Other \ Delete job seeker" action menu configured by Client Success.
- You will need to have been granted the permission 'Can delete job seeker'.
- Ideally, you will also have been granted the permission 'Can view all jobs across recruiter teams'.
From time to time, our Client Success team receives requests from candidates to delete their details, often immediately after they have been unsuccessful in a job application. Our Client Success team does not action these requests, for the following reasons:
- Although candidates have certain rights under privacy legislation, so do employers, in terms of retaining information about that candidate's attempts to gain employment (for example, retaining information for a period of time about a candidate who used forged or falsified documents in their application). Removing all details about a candidate upon their own request would, in many cases, disadvantage the employer, especially if the candidate then re-applied for the same position.
- Each organization has their own preferred approaches to dealing with requests for deletion by candidates. In many cases, the organization will want to agree to the deletion, in order to satisfy the candidate, even when they are under no obligation to do so under related privacy legislation. Other organizations will take a stronger position.
For the reasons above, it is not practical to delegate to the Client Success team the decision as to whether to delete candidate records or not, nor is it possible to simply allow the candidate to delete their own information at will. The Client Success team will always refer the candidate directly to the organization concerned.
It is very important to understand that:
- If your site uses the Employee Referral feature, you will not be allowed to delete a candidate who is set as the "source" of another candidate and/or their application(s). Before you will be able to delete the candidate, you must first edit any other candidate/application sources which have the candidate you are trying to delete as the referrer.
- If your site uses the Recruiter Teams feature, it is important to note that you will not be able to see the candidate's applications for jobs in other teams (unless you have been granted the permission 'Can view all jobs across recruiter teams' which will allow you to see all applications for the candidate across all teams set up on your site).
- If your site uses 'Manage duplicates', you will be allowed to delete a candidate who has a duplicate-related icon applied. Please note that:
- If a candidate who is a 'master profile' is deleted, all of its subordinates are unlinked.
- If a candidate who is 'not duplicate profile' is deleted, all of the candidate profiles that were marked with this candidate will be unmarked.
- The delete feature will allow the deletion of any type of candidate (i.e. internal, external, agency), irrelevant of their application status (e.g. has no applications, has 0/1 or multiple active applications, has 0/1 or multiple inactive applications, applications relating to a standard standalone or pipeline job).
- WARNING: This action is a permanent deletion, it CANNOT be undone. In some instances, it may be more appropriate to remove key details about the candidate (refer below).
Removing key details about the candidate instead of deletion
|Email address:||Changing the candidate's email address to email@example.com (if already in use, use the next number e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) so the candidate cannot:|
|Name:||Blank out the candidate name fields. Please note that if you do this, you will not be able to easily find their profile again later, nor will the profile be marked as a duplicate if the candidate creates another profile with the same name in the future.|
|Phone number fields:||Blank out the various candidate phone number fields. This will ensure the candidate is not sent any messages via the Virtual Phone (SMS) feature if configured on your site.|
|Address fields:||Blank out the various candidate address-related fields. This will ensure the candidate is not sent any physical mail, if your organization carries out this type of activity.|
|Resume fields:||Replace the existing resume (CV), and remove the text version also. This will ensure the candidate is not found via a search (using keywords contained within the CV). Please note that if you do this, you make it more difficult to find their profile again later (especially if you have also removed their candidate name information).|
|Job alert emails:||Remove the subscription to the job alert email service (please note that if you are not amending the candidate's email address, they could login and re-subscribe again in the future).|
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Client Success.
To delete candidates:
- Select the candidate(s) you wish to delete.
- Check if the candidate has any Team tags applied. If so, please remove them from the candidate before attempting to use the delete feature (as it will disrupt the use of this tag for other candidates).
- Select JOB SEEKER \ Other \ Delete candidate:
- A warning message will appear, which includes the name of the candidate(s) you are about to delete:
- If you are very certain that you wish to delete the candidate(s), click the "Yes, delete candidate(s)" button. Please note that there will be no further confirmation ...clicking this button will permanently delete the candidate and is an action that CANNOT be undone.
- The candidate(s) will be deleted and a confirmation will appear:
- Click the "Continue" button and you will be returned to the Candidates tab.
If your site uses the Employee Referral feature, you will not be allowed to delete a candidate who is set as the "source" of another candidate and/or their application(s).
Before you will be able to delete the candidate, you must first edit any other candidate/application sources which have the candidate you are trying to delete as the referrer. To find out who these referrals are:
- While still viewing the candidate you wish to delete, choose JOB SEEKER \ Other \ Work on behalf of job seeker.
- Click on the Referrals tab.
- The referrals you need to adjust before you will be allowed to delete the candidate will be displayed.
- If the referrals tab is not visible when logged in as the candidate you wish to delete, OR
- You have amended all the referral information that was visible, AND
- SnapHire will still not let you delete the candidate, THEN
- It means a referral was made to a job that has since been sent to "ineligible" for referral. You'll need to ask Client Success for a referrals report to track down the referral sources which need to be amended
By default, there is a limit of 10 candidates that can be deleted at one time. If you would like to increase this limit, or if you are unsure of your site's limit, please contact the Client Success team at email@example.com. Note that increasing the limit to a large number may impact the performance of your site during the delete process. We recommend not increasing the limit to more than 100 candidates.